New Divisions announced in 4A football

Radio play-by-play guys will have new press boxes to haunt this season.

The Iowa High School Athletic Association released the new Divisions for Class 4A football in Iowa.  These divisions will play in the 2012 and 2013 seasons.  The eastern side in 4A will remain in conferences.

This is not to be called district football like it is in the other classes of Iowa high school football.

The teams were seeded on past performances and then split into four divisions. Any thoughts on the new match ups?

Schools will submit wish lists of teams to fill out the remaining 4 games on the schedule. My understanding is, that won’t have an impact on playoff points.

Here are the divisions.

Division #1

Council Bluffs, Thomas Jefferson
Des Moines, Abraham Lincoln
Sioux City, East
Valley, West Des Moines

Division #2
Fort Dodge
Des Moines, North
Sioux City, North

Division #3
Ankeny Centennial (no varsity until 2013 season)
Des Moines, Hoover
Dowling Catholic, West Des Moines Des Moines
Mason City

Division #4
Council Bluffs, Abraham Lincoln
Des Moines, East
Sioux City, West
Southeast Polk

On first blush the Division 3 has the longest road trip with Ottumwa and Mason City grouped together. This division does not include a Sioux City or Council Bluffs team, either.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s