Former WHO and WOI anchor passes away

Bobbi Bergman in her WOI days.

For years, Bobbi Bergman was the first person many people saw when they woke up in Des Moines. As part of the WHO-TV and later WOI news team, she got up early to bring you the news.

Bergman later anchored the weekend evening news at WOI-TV.

Bobbi left the news business and her on-air identity as Bobbi Bergman, a couple of years ago and among many things was a wedding officiant.

Bobbi also spent time officiating weddings.

Now her friends and family are searching for meaning in her passing.

Bobbi Silvernail Brunscheon died November 27th, 2011.

According to friends who’ve talked to her husband, Bobbi was complaining of shortness of breath Thursday, stopped breathing that day and never recovered.

Her Facebook page is being used to distribute information about her passing. Her husband posted this update today.

I would like to thank all of Bobbi’s friends for the condolences and kind words. Bobbi was a very special person and had a heart of gold. The two years I spent with her were the two best years of my life. I loved her and made sure I told her that every day. I will miss her beautiful smile and her good energy she provided to me when I was down. I love you Bobbi Silvernail Brunscheon!!!

Bobbie was very much a people person, loved to engage in good debate and above all, made sure you knew she was a huge Michigan fan.

Friend Brooke Bouma posted this in the WHO’s The Morning Buzz blog.

 I met her when I first started working at WHO in 2000 and I was lucky to count her as a friend over the years. She was a lively spirit and I she always put a smile on my face. I talked to her husband yesterday and he told me doctors still don’t know what happened. She stopped breathing Thursday morning and never recovered.

Click on this link to read the entire post from Brooke.

I was able to find a little more bio information Bobbi for those interested.

Bobbi Bergman joined the ABC5 news team in December 2005 as the weekend anchor. Her decade long journalism career has taken her to Washington, D.C., Rapid City, South Dakota and Minneapolis, and she most recently worked for WHO-TV in Des Moines. She holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Communications and a Bachelor of Science degree in Political Science from Heidelberg College in Tiffin, Ohio. She also attended American University in Washington, D.C.

Bobbi is a champion baton twirler and a former “Mrs. Iowa.” She is active in the Des Moines community and serves as president-elect for VSA Arts of Iowa, a non-profit group that promotes the creative power of people with disabilities.

Her obituary is posted here. Funeral services will be Wednesday.

Leave a comment